New Year’s Resolution 2019

I know we still have a month before this all happens, but I’ve already decided what my one single resolution for 2019 (and beyond) is going to be.

This time, it has nothing to do with writing or finances or getting in shape. I’ve started working all of that already because they’re all things that you shouldn’t have to wait until the start of a new year to work on.

Instead, I’ve decided that in 2019 I’m going to work on making the world a better place. More specifically, I plan on bettering it the only way I can; by focusing on myself and letting the rest of the world move on on it’s own.

We only have a limited amount of time on this Earth, and it’s too short to give a damn about Washington politics and arguing about anything and everything on Facebook. I have a lot of personal things to take care of that are much more deserving of my precious time than anything else.

It’s something I think everybody should focus on, worrying about themselves rather than wasting energy on everybody else. But since I can’t change the world, I can at least change myself. That means no commenting on political posts on Facebook or even acknowledging them. There are far more productive things I can be reading and paying attention too.

It’s going to be a huge struggle just like anything else, but I’m up for the challenge.

What about you guys?

11 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution 2019”

    1. The only action I plan on taking is bettering myself. That’s the only way I can ensure positive change in the world is if the change is personal.
      If every single person took some time to step away from the computer and better themselves, the world would be a million times better than it is today.

      Like

  1. I have another calling from my Church which gives me time to go out in the evenings to be with members and have fun for awhile once or twice a week. Other wise I need to write my books to get them done for publishing. I promise to keep up my social media presence. I have to as a writer and a blogger.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I wish you success with being an aspiring author John. That is the best worth while dream to pursue today or tomorrow but keep going for it. It is rewarding I feel this inside of me more now as each day passes.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It really is true that if you want to see change in the world, you have to change yourself first. As within, so without.
    I wrote a post at the beginning of this year on why I don’t believe in sharing New Year’s resolutions with anyone just because I acknowledged the power of words before action. More power comes in the form of doing first, then share later.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a very good point. I’ve almost completely given up on Resolutions because why wait for the year to start when I can wake up the next morning and start working out and eating better? The body doesn’t know the difference between November 26 and January 1

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think it’s a great one. I have been on ‘bettering myself’ since the beginning of the year and it has been. I started by first giving social media (particularly facebook) a wide berth for some months and then I got back on and focused on the major. Of course, I lost some social media attention along the line, and some friends too but I truly move.

    Like

Leave a comment